BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
shoin
Lapis Lazuli | Level 10

Hello all.  Bleated HNY '19

I am not a developer and trying to figure out the most efficient method of doing the two following things.

1) In BASE editor I had a %window macro when I started my editor for credentials input and then I did not have to do that for the rest of the session for my data sources, to do the same in EG, what is better? 

a.   Write %let for ID, PWD and place it in INSERT CUSTOM CODE when starting EG? upon server connection? or

b.   have the same  % let place it in an autoexec and point to it in a specific folder?  I need some access as the PWD will change every 45 days (data source specific)?  Or open to a better option?

2) Is there a way to set default action when EG initializes? .. That is, on EG session start and automatically open a particular SAS program?

As usual, TY in advance

S

9 REPLIES 9
TomKari
Onyx | Level 15

First of all, Happy 2019 to you as well! And welcome to the exciting, if occasionally frustrating world of Enterprise Guide.

1) How you address credentials may be different if you're in a "corporate", centrally managed environment or setting this up just for your use, with the SAS software on your machine. There are different options for credentials in EG. If you're in a corporate environment, you should talk to your SAS administrator about how your organization handles it. If you're alone, which credentials do you need to manage?

2) Not aware of any options for this specific requirement. Hopefully someone else will chime in.

Best,
Tom

shoin
Lapis Lazuli | Level 10

@TomKari Thank you for your reply.  The credentials are for data source (DB) which has its own local credential management system and not tied in with nt_authentication,  Instead of doing %let statements and creating &user, &pwd type variables in each sas code, just want the most efficient way of storing it once (change at one place) and those are available in my libname statements.