BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
deleted_user
Not applicable
Hi guys, Chris,
I am new to both SAS and Visual Studio. For the last couple of weeks I have learned to write a SAS macro for my financial auditing job. My boss wants me to develop a custom task for SAS EG using VB. We now have Visual Studio 2005 pro. I spend a few days searching the web and trying to understand the codes of some sample custom tasks on the web but only got a very rough picture. Some points still confused me, for example

How to call a SAS macro with parameters in VB ?(although I have seen an equivalent C# code from one of the sample custom tasks downloaded from SAS support page)

How to create the .dll file? etc.

Any suggestions, pointer or examples on this? Much appreciated.
12 REPLIES 12
ChrisHemedinger
Community Manager
John,

Most custom tasks simply generate SAS code based on user selections in one or more forms presented in the task. When you already have a SAS macro that does the work you want, the only variation in the generated code from run to run is the parameters passed to the macro, or else perhaps some %LET statements to set up some variables.

You're not calling the macro directly from the task; you are simply generating a SAS program that will call the macro when run within EG.

Is there a C# example that we have that looks like what you want to do? If so, post back and I'll try to provide some code snippets for a VB.NET equivalent.

One other note: if you are using VS2005, you'll want to look at this thread:
http://support.sas.com/forums/thread.jspa?forumID=10&threadID=121&tstart=0

Chris
It's time to register for SAS Innovate! Join your SAS user peers in Las Vegas on April 16-19 2024.
deleted_user
Not applicable
Thanks Chris,

It helps me clarify things a little bit. And here is the C# code of a sample custom task from http://support.sas.com/documentation/onlinedoc/guide/release30/addins/

public string SasCode
{
get
{