BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
yags
Calcite | Level 5

Hi there

I am very new to SAS and have only just started using SAS Enterprise guide

I work in a company where most of our external/financial reporting is prepared in Excel. We are working on a SAS based solution for some of our reporting

I understand that SAS is a statistical software but it also has capabilties such as getting data from datawarehouses which is quite helpful

We are trying to build Proc Sql queries for getting data from data repositories and aggregating the data into a reportable format

One of the troubles that we are facing is that Proc Sql code needs to copied over to a different project each time there is a new reporting requirement that is slightly different from the previous report

Is there a way of stroing these proc sql queries in a library of some sort? I know that SAS macros should be able to allow code reuse. But just wondering if there is anything else that will allow reuse?

I hope whatever I have written makes sense Smiley Happy

Any help from you guys will be greatly appreciated

Thanks in advance

5 REPLIES 5
Reeza
Super User

Two options that come to mind:

1. Make the query general and create views in your database that can be then queried directly.

2. Use %include to point to program and include it in your scripts.

Patrick
Opal | Level 21

You can store the query in a macro - and if it uses the SAS Autocall facility the you can use this macro in any of your projects. SAS(R) 9.4 Macro Language: Reference

You could create a view and store this view in a permanent pre-assigned SAS library - or directly in the data base.

You could store your SQL code in a separate .sas file and then use it via an %include statement.