BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
🔒 This topic is solved and locked. Need further help from the community? Please sign in and ask a new question.
cnilsen
Quartz | Level 8

HI All,

I am a novice programmer and facing a new programming challenge. 

I'm working with enterprise guide to create a data set to be exported ultimately..  (I estimate about 1.7 million records..)

A character column within it contains periods (.) in some of the rows. (the value is not always found, or in the same position within the string) I'd like to scan the column and replace them if possible with a blank. I am not sure if the is a function that I can use with creating a calculated column OR, how I can create a data set, then run a proc statement against it to read the rows, scan/replace if found the value and update the data.

I have tried searching the community for answers, but was unsuccessful. 

Any help would be appreciated!

- Chris N.
1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
ChrisHemedinger
Community Manager

As @PaigeMiller said, TRANSLATE does the trick.

PROC SQL;
   CREATE TABLE WORK.table AS 
   SELECT /* newval */
            (TRANSLATE(t1.OriginalCol, ' ', '.')) AS newval
      FROM WORK.original t1;
QUIT;
SAS Hackathon registration is open! Build your skills. Make connections. Enjoy creative freedom. Maybe change the world.

View solution in original post

6 REPLIES 6
novinosrin
Tourmaline | Level 20

Please post a sample of your input and the expect output

PaigeMiller
Diamond | Level 26

Yes, showing us an example of your data would definitely help get a quicker answer.

However, the TRANSLATE function in SAS will turn dots into blanks. There are examples in the documentation.

https://documentation.sas.com/?cdcId=pgmmvacdc&cdcVersion=9.4&docsetId=lefunctionsref&docsetTarget=p...

--
Paige Miller
cnilsen
Quartz | Level 8

a sample of text might be :

"MEXICAN RED. ROSES - BOUQUET."

I'd like the result to be:

"MEXICAN RED ROSES - BOUQUET"