BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
RD
Calcite | Level 5 RD
Calcite | Level 5
Hello friends,
I am new to the world of SAS. I have been working as a Marketing Analyst for a few years now and realize it is time to pick up SAS. The last place I worked at used another tool which had some built-in functionality to do various analyses.

I have being doing some research on how to get started and found out about the SAS Enterprise Guide. A few years back I got trained in a similar click and Drop SPSS tool and thought that that was interesting. I would like to know if I would handicap myself by not going the programming route. I understand that SAS sells the Learning Edition software, but I would like to know how much functionality it includes. Can someone give me suggestions here to getting started?

Thanks,
RD.
6 REPLIES 6
deleted_user
Not applicable
The Learning Edition is a fairly inexpensive ~ $100. introduction to SAS and besides Base, includes portions of SAS/Stat, SAS/ETS, SAS/QC and SAS/Graph. (I sound like a sales person ;->)

Three important caveats:
1) you are limited to 10,000 observations for any dataset you create
2) the LE is intended for self-study, non-commercial purposes and
3) the version of E.G. included w. LE is 2.0 - this is pretty far removed from 3.0.2. and the recently announced 4.1 .

An excellent resource for all things SAS is SAS-L on the Internet. Do a Google search, see how you can join and then stand back ..

Just my $0.02 .

Bernie Zimmerman
deleted_user
Not applicable
"Can someone give me suggestions here to getting started?"

Not without knowing more about what your goals are. What specifically are you trying to achieve? What/where are your data sources? Are they corporate ones? Are they in a datawarehouse? What type of analyses are you trying to perform, using what statistical methods? What products are you currently using?

To address one of your questions, EG is the preferred interface to SAS, and it comes with each PC licence of base SAS 9.