BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
🔒 This topic is solved and locked. Need further help from the community? Please sign in and ask a new question.
crawfe
Quartz | Level 8

Hi. I have a large table; the key columns are UpNum (Char) and Date1 (1Jan2019). UpNums are performed continuously.

I need to cumulatively count the No. of UpNums by Month.

I would like to format Date1 to MMYYYY then cumulatively count the instances of UpNum.

(I would like this output to be part of the larger table, since the other columns are just informational).

(I am new to SAS and my thoughts on this were quickly getting too complicated! 🙂  )

Thanks!

Input:                                                   Output:

UpNum         Date1     ...(other cols)   UpNum              Date1_MY       CumCount     ...(other columns)

AA001           4Apr2019                       AA001                 01/2019              1

AA001           5Jan 2019                      AA001                 02/2019              2

AA002           12Dec2018                    AA001                 03/2019              2

AA001           12Feb2019                    AA001                 04/2019              3

AA002           14Feb2019                      ....                         ....                    ....

AA003           ......                               AA002                 12/2018              1

AA002                  01/2019             1

AA002                  02/2019             2    (etc..)

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
PeterClemmensen
Tourmaline | Level 20

@crawfe, if I understand your question correctly, the tricky part of your problem is to turn your transactional data into time series data with data points for each month start, even if some month in your time period contains no observations?

If so, then PROC TIMESERIES is a nice tool. Below, i took part of your posted data. This gives you the desired, posted output data

data have;
input UpNum $ date1:date9.;
format date1 date9.;