BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
🔒 This topic is solved and locked. Need further help from the community? Please sign in and ask a new question.
jagnew
Obsidian | Level 7

Hi,

I have a table which is a list of transactions, with customer numbers and products.

I want to group transactions by customer and month and find the months where volume changes >10% vs the last month they transacted (which may be several months before).

Ideally the output would show Customer, Month, Volume, Change vs Last Month Traded.

I am very new with SAS and have no idea how to do this, any help would be great.

Thanks

Jamie

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Kurt_Bremser
Super User
proc sort data=summed;
by customer_num year month;
run;

data want;
set summed;
by customer_num;
change_percent = auto_percent - lag(auto_percent);
if first.customer_num then change_percent = .;
run;

You probably won't need the sort, depending on how you created the sum.

Note that I don't use non-standard variable names like 'AUTO%'n. Special characters have their place in variable labels.

View solution in original post

9 REPLIES 9
RW9
Diamond | Level 26 RW9
Diamond | Level 26

Hi,

I would suggest if you are new to SAS then start with the training material:

http://video.sas.com/#category/videos/how-to-tutorials

You can follow this up by looking through the forums here, there is a lot of information.

After that if you have further questions, then post a question here, supply test data in the form of a datastep (as we cannot see your data or structure) using the code window (which is the {i} above post area) and following this post if need:

https://communities.sas.com/t5/SAS-Communities-Library/How-to-create-a-data-step-version-of-your-dat...

Further, post example required output so we can inputs/outputs.

At a guess from what you say you can do it in a number of ways, first group the data using proc means/summary, or with proc sql.  Then a datastep with a diff() and calculation.  E.g.

proc sql;