BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
🔒 This topic is solved and locked. Need further help from the community? Please sign in and ask a new question.
SASFanTodd
Calcite | Level 5

Hello All,

I'm very new to SAS (started training in E.G.5.1 today) and this may be putting the cart before the horse but I need to ask anyway.  I have the need to import .txt files which are healthcare claims 837p/x12 formated files.  Within each file, segments/records are broken up by a "~".  However, when I try to import the file delimiting the file by the "~" using EG, it tells me I cannot.  Any help would be appreciated

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Tom
Super User Tom
Super User

You can just have the INFILE statement loop over the filenames without bothering to make another dataset of them. (Note it really only works with a single '*' wildcard in the string.)

data output_file

infile "&dirname\*.txt" recfm=n dlm='7E'x dss;

length f1 $ 500;

input f1 @;

run;

If you want to save the file names then you can use the FILENAME option on the INFILE statement.  You need two variables because the one referenced in the INFILE statement will be dropped by SAS.

data output_file

length filename fname f1 $ 500;

infile "&dirname\*.txt" recfm=n dlm='7E'x dss filename=fname;

input f1 @;

filename=fname;

run;

View solution in original post

6 REPLIES 6
ballardw
Super User

How are attempting to import the files?  Showing a copy of a log entry with the error would be helpful.

Also, are all of the files in the same layout? Does all of the result go to a single data set or does each file need to create a separate data set?

You  may want to post a couple of records with any sensitive information replaced with XXX or similar.

SASFanTodd
Calcite | Level 5