BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
PNC
Fluorite | Level 6 PNC
Fluorite | Level 6

I have a column of numbers that I need to have in a specific format.  At this point in time it is set up as currency: $00.00.  I need it to read 00.00+.  I tried to find a format that is already available and didn't see one. I thought of the User Defined Format but couldn't figure out how to get it to work for this.  Any suggestions?

I am not a programmer, so if there is a way to do this without writing code that would be great.  If it can only be done in code I would need to get it from start to finish.  I have no code writing experience whatsoever.

This will be used in SAS Enterprise Guide.

Thank you!

4 REPLIES 4
ballardw
Super User

If I understand what you want then this is one approach.

proc format library=work;
picture trailsign
low -<0  ='0000009.99-' 
0        = '0.00' (noedit)
0<- high ='0000009.99+'
;
run;

data example;
  do x= -10 to 10 by 0.15,0;
  output;
  end;
run;

proc print data=example noobs;
   format x trailsign.;
run;

Note that when discussing format it is a good idea to indicate the range of values to display, number of decimals required and actual breakpoints in the changes if needed.

The Picture type format uses digit selectors, 0 means that if that position in a value is not populated do not show anything, 9 (or any non-zero but 9 is traditional) forces the appearance of a 0 even when there is no value. 9.99 will display 1 as 1.00 for example. I used this option since that is what your example showed.

You did not mention negative values at all but I incleded one. values of 0 usually are an exception to most rules and will often not display as desired with digit selectors so used an explicit value with the (noedit) to tell the picture statement not to treat the 0.00 as digit selectors.