BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
Boombox
Calcite | Level 5

Hello everyone,

I am very new to SAS Enterpride Guide and programming in general but have been picking up things quite quickly but I can't seem to resolve this problem, so I am hoping someone can help me with this. 

Basically, I have a table that ranks all the dates of the information that I am working with because I need to generate a weekly report from the days of the most recent week. Generally, I need the dates ranked 1 through 5 (Monday to Friday). However, sometimes there are certain dates that I have been asked to exclude (which I already know what dates those are) and only do a week analysis of the other 4 days. Therefore, I am looking for a way to exclude those dates once they show up (see image below for reference).

Boombox_1-1677483354256.png

So if the date in Table 2 shows up in Table 1 I would like to exclude that whole row. The rank values in the "Desired End Result" table becomes irrelevant to me after filtering out the dates. 

I use SAS Enterpride Guide 8.2

Thank you in advance for the support. 

7 REPLIES 7
PeterClemmensen
Tourmaline | Level 20
data one;
input rank date :mmddyy10. value;
format date mmddyy10.;
datalines;
1 04/14/2023 12 
2 04/13/2023  8 
3 04/12/2023  6 
4 04/11/2023 17 
5 04/10/2023  2 
;

data two;
input date :mmddyy10.;
format date mmddyy10.;
datalines;
04/14/2023 
04/19/2023 
;

proc sql;
   create table want as
   select * 
   from one
   where date not in (select date from two)
   ;
quit;
Patrick
Opal | Level 21

Assuming you're still in the point&click only phase below how you could do this.

Patrick_0-1677486487783.png

Advanced filter - filter clause typed manually

Patrick_1-1677486633035.png

Patrick_4-1677486714325.png

Patrick_5-1677486751695.png

Above works BUT I was only really capable of doing this the point & click way because I knew what SQL code I wanted EG to generate.