I am new to SQL and EG 4.1

I use a sql query like the following to create a sas tableset :

PROC SQL;

CREATE TABLE AQ.TEST

SELECT

TRIM(CUSTOMERS.CUSTOMER_NAME) as CUSTOMER_NAME

FROM TEST.CUSTOMERS AS CUSTOMERS

;QUIT;

The resulting tableset is a clean column with no space, but for some reason, when I use left click export to Excel, the table exported to excel now has a lot of spaces at the end of the customer name.

Does anyone know how to solve this?

Thank you for your help and time.

12 REPLIES 12
TomKari
Onyx | Level 15

Part 1 of your problem is that SAS doesn't have a variable-length CHARACTER data type, so all of your CUSTOMER_NAME records will be padded out with blanks to the full length of the column (you can check this length with right-click Properties against the table).

What you need is a way to get SAS to strip the trailing blanks when exporting to Excel. That part I don't know.

Tom

TomKari
Onyx | Level 15

I did a little more testing, and I can't replicate your problem. When I "right-click export" to Excel, my 50 character column doesn't have trailing blanks.

Tom

nicnad
Fluorite | Level 6

But your first answer pointed out the problem.

When I right-click Properties against the table TEST, I see that the column CUSTOMER_NAME is length 1000 and format $1000.0 (this must not be right since I want this column to be varchar type) and when I use LEN() function in Excel I see that the cell is 1000 characters long.

How do I set my variable properly in my SQL query in order for it the be the correct length?

Thank you for your help and time

TomKari
Onyx | Level 15

There is no varchar type in SAS. I'm guessing that your Oracle column is VARCHAR(1000), so SAS has to create a CHAR variable of length 1000 to hold possible long values.

But I believe you should be able to get a trimmed version into Excel, because that's what I get.

I can't try your situation because I have EG 5.1. My two thoughts: