BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
aha123
Obsidian | Level 7
I am a long-time SAS programmer but new to SAS Enterprise Guide and Business Intelligence. Could anyone explain to me what is the relationship between two? Is Enterprise Guide part of Business Intelligence? Or they are separate products.
7 REPLIES 7
LinusH
Tourmaline | Level 20
Business Intelligence is not a product, rather an area of tools and methods for support decision making.
SAS has two bundles that they call BI Server and Enterprise BI Server, see sas.com for description of these bundles.
Enterprise Guide is tool which is a part of these bundles.

/Linus
Data never sleeps
aha123
Obsidian | Level 7
Can I say SAS Enterprise Guide is a comparable product SAS Inc created to compete with SAP's Business Objects?
LinusH
Tourmaline | Level 20
I have no real world experience with BO, but I feel confident enough to say no.
BO has also a variety of tools. One might say that you could compare SAS Enterprise BI Server with BO. I don't think that BO has any tool that is directly comparable with Enterprise Guide. They have something called Desktop Intelligence, but it requires a experienced person to really tell how these products can be compared.

/Linus
Data never sleeps
aha123
Obsidian | Level 7
My company uses BO. But to me, BO is for managers or non-analysts. It only allows users to create simple reports. It is very lacking in terms of capabilities of generating more sophisticated data analysis or reporting. After reading some online articles, it seems to me that EG provides the similar functionalities as BO does: just make it easier for general users to create simple reports. Unfortunately, my company doesn't have budget to buy EG, so I only can guess.
ChrisHemedinger
Community Manager