BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
🔒 This topic is solved and locked. Need further help from the community? Please sign in and ask a new question.
Ela_84
Fluorite | Level 6

Hi there everyone,

I'm still new to the sas world and currently stuck trying to format a variable. 

I have a proc sql step and I'm hitting a sequel table but the column I'm matching it with is not numeric. I'm wanting to format b.AccountNumber; to numeric  but not sure what steps to take.

see below 

proc sql; create table FTY1 as select
a. *
,b. ResponseCodeMessage

from FTY a left outer join COL.biz b on a.Account_number=b.AccountNumber;
quit;

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
PeterClemmensen
Tourmaline | Level 20

I assume that b.AccountNumber is the one that is not numeric?

a. *
,b. ResponseCodeMessage
from FTY a left outer join COL.biz b on a.Account_number=input(b.AccountNumber, best.);
quit;

View solution in original post

10 REPLIES 10
PeterClemmensen
Tourmaline | Level 20

I assume that b.AccountNumber is the one that is not numeric?

a. *
,b. ResponseCodeMessage
from FTY a left outer join COL.biz b on a.Account_number=input(b.AccountNumber, best.);
quit;
Ela_84
Fluorite | Level 6

that's correct - Thank you SOOOO much.

I will give it a try and let you know if it works.

Appreciate this alot.

Ela_84
Fluorite | Level 6

Thank you so much Draycut - it worked appreciate the help again.

Have an awesome day!

rajeshm
Quartz | Level 8

Thanks for the answer ,useful to me.

q1:  one col is  numeric and one col is char. when comparing which is best ? char to numeric conversion or numeric to char ? please give some explanation,please.

TomKari
Onyx | Level 15

It depends...

Don't you love that answer? But seriously, it does, and here are some of the considerations.