BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
☑ This topic is solved. Need further help from the community? Please sign in and ask a new question.
paulskie08
Calcite | Level 5

Hi,

First off, I am very new to SAS and SQL. I am trying to convert the date column on my table from 01JAN2023 to 2023-01-01 on my PROC SQL statement but I keep on getting an error message. I tried the FORMAT and CONVERT options but no go. Here's how I'm doing it:

Select query_date, query_type

from call_database

where query_date >= '01JAN2023'

What should be the correct format for this statement? TIA!

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
PaigeMiller
Diamond | Level 26

If all you want is to use the WHERE statement properly in SQL for this problem, use this (assuming query_date is a numeric variable that is an actual SAS date value).

where query_date >= '01JAN2023'd

What are typical values of QUERY_DATE?

Also, this seems to have nothing to do with your title, and I get the feeling that somewhere along the way, the question in the title is relevant, but I can't see right now what the relevance is.

--
Paige Miller

View solution in original post

7 REPLIES 7
paulskie08
Calcite | Level 5

Thanks for the response. I did try this too, but I got this error:

Syntax error: expected something between a string or a Unicode character literal and the word 'd'.

PaigeMiller
Diamond | Level 26

Show us the complete log for this PROC SQL. That's all of the log for PROC SQL, every single line in the log for PROC SQL, not just the error messages. Never show us error messages only and expect us to know what happened.

--
Paige Miller
paulskie08
Calcite | Level 5

Thank you, Paige. For some reason, it was an issue with the column name. I renamed the column and the syntax worked.

PaigeMiller
Diamond | Level 26

If all you want is to use the WHERE statement properly in SQL for this problem, use this (assuming query_date is a numeric variable that is an actual SAS date value).

where query_date >= '01JAN2023'd