BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
☑ This topic is solved. Need further help from the community? Please sign in and ask a new question.
Gucci913
Fluorite | Level 6

I have imported a list which is one variable and over 66k records (A1:A66000).  I then need to create a list adding an apostrophe in order to query these IDs in the next data step for how the field is stored as VARCHAR.  I am unable to create a list from the Proc Import since there are too many records.  It appears I may need to run this below step several times to use the list(s) in my where statement.

Is there a way in the below to add in a range from the proc import?  Then maybe I can have NPI_LIST1, NPI_LIST2, NPI_LIST3 etc?

Is there a way I an make sure the excel import is clean enough so that I do not need to add the apostrophes and change the records to VARCHAR?

Or is there a better solution I am not considering?  I am new to SAS so any guidance is greatly appreciated.

PROC SQL:

Select

CATS(" ' ",NPI_ID," ' ") AS VARCHAR into: NPI_LIST1 separated by " ' "

From Work.npis;

Quit;

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
SASKiwi
PROC Star

In SAS SQL you can join columns with different data types by using either the PUT or INPUT function in the join syntax:

proc sql;
  create table Want as 
  select *
  from Have1 as A
  left join Have2 as B
  on put(A.ID_Num, 8.) = B.ID_Char;
quit;

View solution in original post

10 REPLIES 10
PaigeMiller
Diamond | Level 26

I am confused.

First you say "I have imported a list which is one variable and over 66k records" — okay, that is clear. Then you say "I am unable to create a list from the Proc Import since there are too many records." How are you creating the list? Why are you creating the list? Why do you need to add an apostrophe?

--
Paige Miller
Gucci913
Fluorite | Level 6

Sorry I was not clear.