BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
🔒 This topic is solved and locked. Need further help from the community? Please sign in and ask a new question.
new_sas_user_4
Obsidian | Level 7

hi everyone, 

I am new to the SAS forum and also to the world of SAS.

I have recently started using SAS as part of my daily job!! looking for some guidance and help here !!

I am trying to pull data for :

current month till today 

full prior month (everyday) because its dynamic

prior year MTD(month to date) 

Prior month MTD(month to date)

I want to create a macro which indicates the date/ date range so I dont have to do multiple pulls, instead pull all of the above data in one program..

I hope what I am asking makes sense..

Please help!!

Also, if there is any reference material for SAS macros/automations(getting a report in SAS and then publishing it via SAS) or a good book, please advise..

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
art297
Opal | Level 21

Sounds like you want something like:

proc sql;
  create table current_month as
    select date,a,b,c
      from have
        where date between intnx('month',today(),0,'b') and today()
  ;
  create table prior_month as
    select date,a,b,c
      from have
        where date between intnx('month',today(),-1,'b') and intnx('month',today(),-1,'e')
  ;
  create table prior_month_to_date as
    select date,a,b,c
      from have
        where date between intnx('month',today(),-1,'b') and intnx('month',today(),-1,'s')
  ;
  create table prior_year as
    select date,a,b,c
      from have
        where date between intnx('month',today(),-12,'b') and intnx('month',today(),-1,'s')
  ;
quit;

Of course, can't test it without data, but I'd think that you could take it from here.

Art, CEO, AnalystFinder.com

View solution in original post

19 REPLIES 19
art297
Opal | Level 21

You don't need a macro. You can create all four files, dynamically, with a single data step.