BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
🔒 This topic is solved and locked. Need further help from the community? Please sign in and ask a new question.
Willo13
Calcite | Level 5

Hi,

I am a SAS beginner that has just started with EG 4.2, so feeling my way around.  Smiley Happy

I have a table of data where the are multiple columns and I would like to count the number of non blank columns in each row and store the count into a new calculated column.  So my outcome should looks like this;

IDCo1Col2Col3Col4New Column: Count of Non Blanks
1001XX2
1002X1234abc3
1003X1

I've not been able to find any guidance on how to do this type of counting using EG query builder so if anyone could help that would be fab!

JW

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
MichelleHomes
Meteorite | Level 14

Hi JW,

in the Query Builder, you can create a Computed Column using an Advanced Expression and then specify the expression:

4-cmiss(of Col1 - Col4)

that is assuming your columns are named Col1, Col2, Col3 and Col4. If they are named something else such as A, B , C, D, E then you would use:

5-cmiss(A, B , C, D, E)

the cmiss function counts the number of missing numeric or character columns and so you want to subtract that from the number of variables you have.

For details on the cmiss function, see http://support.sas.com/documentation/cdl/en/lefunctionsref/63354/HTML/default/viewer.htm#p1tth4ltf64...

Cheers,

Michelle

Message was edited by: Michelle Homes

//Contact me to learn how Metacoda software can help keep your SAS platform secure - https://www.metacoda.com

View solution in original post

11 REPLIES 11
pali
Fluorite | Level 6

Hi JW,

See if it helps!

data new;

set old;

array chars(*)  _character_;

array num(*)  _numeric_;

count=0;

do i=1 to dim(chars);

if missing(chars(i))=0 then count=count+1;

end;

do j=1 to dim(num);
if missing(num(j))=0 then count=count+1;

end;

drop i j;

run;

-Saurabh

esjackso
Quartz | Level 8