BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
Martin_Bryant
Quartz | Level 8

I'm a SAS newbie and I don't seem to be able to work out the correct syntax for this. I have a dataset (fileList) with one field (projFile) which holds a filename. I wish to open the file and read the contents into a second field that will be created. The file is zipped (it's a SAS-EG project file) and so I'm told that I should use Filename statement with the zip option to read the file. However, no matter how I reference projFile it doesn't like it.

data fileList;
set fileList;
    filename inzip zip "&projFile" member="project.xml";
    infile inzip;
    input fileContent $char2000.;
    output;
run;

I may also have the input statement wrong, but until I can get past this issue, I don't know. Thanks.

9 REPLIES 9
Kurt_Bremser
Super User

The first thing you positively MUST not do is this:

data fileList;
set fileList;

because you immediately destroy your filelist dataset.

You will not be able to do this in one data step, you have to run multiple data steps for the project files.

%macro import_one(projfile,outds);

filename inzip zip "&projFile";

data &outds;
set fileList;
infile inzip member="project.xml" end=done;
do until (done);
    input fileContent $char2000.;
    output;
end;
run;

%mend;

data _null_;
set filelist;
call execute(cats('%nrstr(%import_one(',projfile,",",dataset_name,"))"));
run;

This is, of course, untested.

Martin_Bryant
Quartz | Level 8
Excellent, thanks. I will try that now.
Kurt_Bremser
Super User

Note that, for my code to work, dataset FILELIST needs to have a second variable for the output dataset. This is necessary because you can't use the ZIP file name for a dataset. But you might be able to extract a valid dataset name on the fly from the ZIP file name.

Martin_Bryant
Quartz | Level 8

Maybe I need to restate my problem. I have the following code which works well.

filename inzip zip "/user/Martin/myproject.egp" member="project.xml";
data _null_;   
   infile inzip;