BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
🔒 This topic is solved and locked. Need further help from the community? Please sign in and ask a new question.
JMS
Obsidian | Level 7 JMS
Obsidian | Level 7

I'm new to EG and have the following question: I have a windows PC with SAS EG and no local SAS.

And I have a linux machine with SAS 9.4.

Is it possible to use SAS EG as a client to the remote SAS on the linux machine?

How can I do that connection?

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
SASKiwi
PROC Star

@JMS  - EG 8.2 has the option to avoid using  a SAS metadata server and directly logon to a SAS Workspace server. I suspect this is the functionality you need.

View solution in original post

31 REPLIES 31
AhmedAl_Attar
Rhodochrosite | Level 12

Typically,

EG (Client App) would connect to Server Side SAS via SAS Metadata Server instance running of a Server.

If you and your Organization don't have SAS Metadata Server licensed, then you can connect via SAS/CONNECT if that module is licensed on the Server, and you have a SAS Connect Spawner instance running on the Linux Server.

Hope this helps,

Ahmed

JMS
Obsidian | Level 7 JMS
Obsidian | Level 7

Ahmed I have no spawner running. I could start it but I have not root rights and I'm not sure if I'm allowed to start programs listening on a port. I would prefer  to start SAS by connecting with ssh.

If it works with the spawner, what is the next step? Specify target ip&port in EG?

What if it is not possible to use a spawner, will it work with ssh?

AhmedAl_Attar
Rhodochrosite | Level 12

@JMS 

Couple of things to keep in mind

• As far as I know, ssh will not work!
  • Only SAS/CONNECT Spawner and/or SAS Object Spawner are your options to connect to Remote SAS server in Enterprise Guide.

One other alternative, which depends on your Linux SAS Installation, Check if your organization has SAS Studio Basic installed. This would be your best choice.

Ahmed   

AhmedAl_Attar
Rhodochrosite | Level 12

@JMS