BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
Boombox
Calcite | Level 5

Hello everyone,

I am new to SAS Enterpride Guide and programming in general but have been picking up things quickly and I can't seem to resolve this problem, so I am hoping someone can help me with this. 

Basically what's happening is that the way there is a process flow set for a weekly report that has a rank task that will rank the dates in such a way that the rank values are assigned in order of recency. I run this process flow on Mondays for the report and the ranks that I need from the ranked table are only the top 5 ranks. This would be rank 1, the previous Friday, to rank 5, the previous Monday (the table only has business days dates).

However, sometimes there will be dates that will not show up on the table (I know which are the dates that won't show up) and when Monday come and I make my report rather than analyzing the top 5 ranks I only have to use the top 4 ranks. Meaning I would need to only filter from rank 1, previous Thursday (because Friday's date, April 14th, is missing), to rank 4, previous Monday. (attempt at a visual representation below).

Boombox_0-1679867299685.png

The idea is set it up so that Enterpirse Guide will run the process flow and give me the desired end result table because it can recognize when it is a normal week (Rank =< 5, Friday to Monday) and when it is a "special" week (Rank =< 4, Thursday to Monday). 

Thank you in advance for the support. 

6 REPLIES 6
Boombox
Calcite | Level 5

I like the idea but I haven't been able to implement it correctly in the filter. Could you explain how to use it?

Kurt_Bremser
Super User

From your description, I think you are massively overcomplicating things, mostly because the pointy-clicky "helpers" in EG get into the way of your thinking.