BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
🔒 This topic is solved and locked. Need further help from the community? Please sign in and ask a new question.
Tasha
Calcite | Level 5

I am new to Enterprise Guide. I am using version 4.2.

I created a project and opened a dataset. Because this dataset is pointing to a another location, I am not able to directly add a new variable to it. I'm assuming this is correct.

So, I am using Query Builder where I add all the columns and would like to add some variables with conditions.

For example:

if column1='a' then order='First';

else if column1='b' then order='Second';

So, I am creating a new varaible order.

How can I add a new variable (if-then-else statement) to an open dataset in my project?

Thanks,

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Doc_Duke
Rhodochrosite | Level 12

Tasha,

You can do this with the Query Builder task.  It does not modify the original data; rather it builds a new data set or view with the added column. 

Click computed column and then select recode.  The help should take you from there.

The SAS for Dummies (second edition) covers this and more for EGuide 4.2 and 4.3.

Doc Muhlbaier

Duke

View solution in original post

3 REPLIES 3
Doc_Duke
Rhodochrosite | Level 12

Tasha,

You can do this with the Query Builder task.  It does not modify the original data; rather it builds a new data set or view with the added column. 

Click computed column and then select recode.  The help should take you from there.

The SAS for Dummies (second edition) covers this and more for EGuide 4.2 and 4.3.

Doc Muhlbaier

Duke

Tasha
Calcite | Level 5

Thanks this helped greatly!

How can I use two variables from the dataset to create a new one? Is this possible?

Doc_Duke
Rhodochrosite | Level 12

It is possible, but can be more difficult.