BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
Benjamin_Wang
Calcite | Level 5

Hi, I'm a first time user of SAS, but I am an experienced programmer in other languages. I am using SAS it to access a very large database with measurement readings, but getting very poor results in terms of how fast the system is responding and also navigating the UI.

I tried to collect all of the historical values for a subsection for the past year, but the application crashed.

Now when I try to re-run the application by narrowing it down to the month, the application never completes. It's staying in 'Running...' status but does not seem to be doing anything.

I had a few questions I'd like to ask about SAS EG:

1. Is there any type of console or terminal log I can pull up within SAS EG to see what the program is actually doing in real time to ensure it isn't stuck?

2. The query I initially ran froze the PC, actually used up over 150 GB of storage on my HD completely filling it up and crashing. I deleted the 'results' file to free up that space. Is there any resource someone can point me to that I can use to learn how to pipe out the query output in SAS into smaller files with a maximum of X records in each file? 

2 REPLIES 2
Tom
Super User Tom
Super User

So either the data is too large for your machine or you have made some type of coding error. For example perhaps you have coded an infinite loop.  Or are writing millions of line of text to the SAS log.

In general it is best to break the process into steps.  But with large data you don't want to make multiple copies of the same data so that can get difficult.  You might need to see if creating views might help.  If you are subsetting the data to make it smaller make sure to subset as soon as possible.  Either by including a WHERE clause to limit the observations or combination of DROP or KEEP options to limit the number of variables included.

You need to post a more detailed description of what you are doing.