BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
SGhosh
Fluorite | Level 6

I am new to SAS EMiner, so any response on this would e very helpful

How can I select variables in the data node of SAS EMiner? To define it more clearly, I would say if I have ~50 variables, how could I select / determine the strongest variables for my model?

When I am running my model package, in the log I see "Pr > ChiSq" for most of the variables are 1.0000 - this explains my variables have some issue. But how to fix it. For example , I have a variable called claim_count and instead of keeping the values as continuous I grouped them in certain buckets. like 1-10,11-20.. etc

Thanks in advancre

2 REPLIES 2
DougWielenga
SAS Employee

How can I select variables in the data node of SAS EMiner? To define it more clearly, I would say if I have ~50 variables, how could I select / determine the strongest variables for my model?

By 'data node' I am assuming you mean the Input Data Source node.  In general, you would be ill-advised to remove variables from consideration unless you knew they were not (most likely) suitable for direct use in modeling (e.g. ID information, date/timestamp information, SKU numbers, zip codes, etc...).  It is also not necessary to choose variables in this node since SAS Enterprise Miner provides a wealth of methods to choose variables for your model such as the following:

* the Variable Selection node provides Regression and Tree-based methods for choosing variables

* the Tree node performs its own variable selection so it does not need prior variable selection

* the Regression node allows you to add possible terms and to perform a set of stepwise methods to perform variable selection

* the Variable Clustering node provides and alternate way of trying to remove variables which have duplicate or highly similar information