BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
SGhosh
Fluorite | Level 6

It would be great if I could get any help in understanding these questions (at least the 1st question). I really do have a very tight timeline for a project and I am new to this.  Any help would be really appreciated.

1. In Data Partition Node, what these variables determine?
    1. Training
    2. Validation
    3. Test

Their default values are 40%,30%,30%.   

I looked at their definition in EMiner 14.1 Help, but the description is not in an elaborated way.

I am trying to understand:

How its impacting the lift [I changed to 20,40,40 and see the difference, but don’t understand the logic behind this]?

How its impacting the incremental model response?

2. (Related to the above question) From the incremental response model diagnostic, how to predict the variables which could be used from the model as it shows Train, Validation and Test?

1. Image attached (IRMD_graph)       How these variables could be used for model’s variable selection? Image attached (IRMD_table)

Thanks a lot in advance

-Soma

8 REPLIES 8
DougWielenga
SAS Employee

Data Mining data often involves extremely large data sets (many rows, many columns) and the Data Partition node in SAS Enterprise Miner allows an analyst to break up the overall data in different portions each representing the overall data. This is documented in the application help for SAS Enterprise Miner which can be accessed by opening the application and then clicking on Help --> Contents. From there, navigate in the panel on the left to

Node Reference

Sample

Data Partition Node

and then navigate in the panel on the right to 'Overview of the Data Partition Node' where you find the following:

/*** BEGIN EXCERPT ***/