BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
mike_dee08
Calcite | Level 5

Hello,

I am new to learning SAS, but have previous background in SQL.  I pull claims data almost daily and I am looking for a way to be more effective, as opposed to running the same code over and over.

For example, I am pulling claims data with procedure code 'X', but in the same SAS code, I will pull claims data with procedure code 'Y'.  Essentially, duplicating the Proc SQL, with the only change that would need to be made is in the Where statement - Procedure_Code = 'X'. 

I have been researching Do Loops, but I am not sure if this is the route I need to go.  Any suggestions?

Thank you,

Mike

5 REPLIES 5
Reeza
Super User

@mike_dee08 wrote:

Hello,

I am new to learning SAS, but have previous background in SQL.  I pull claims data almost daily and I am looking for a way to be more effective, as opposed to running the same code over and over.

For example, I am pulling claims data with procedure code 'X', but in the same SAS code, I will pull claims data with procedure code 'Y'.  Essentially, duplicating the Proc SQL, with the only change that would need to be made is in the Where statement - Procedure_Code = 'X'. 

I have been researching Do Loops, but I am not sure if this is the route I need to go.  Any suggestions?

Thank you,

Mike

What's the ultimate goal? Why can't you include the multiple diagnosis in a single PROC SQL query?

mike_dee08
Calcite | Level 5

Hi Reeza,

The ultimate goal is to include other variables as well.  I know procedure code might have been a little too simple, but I am looking to do the same thing with groups, subgroups, states, counties, etc.  When you add up the variables, it can get pretty tedious to continue to perform updates.

A lot of the information I have found on Do Loops runs calculations within the data set, or creates variables, but I have not seen a way to incorporate something like this into a Proc SQL Where function.

Thank you,

Mike

Reeza
Super User