BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
🔒 This topic is solved and locked. Need further help from the community? Please sign in and ask a new question.

Hi all, I'm a math student who must pass a data mining exam in a week. I can not fix any point of this exercise using SAS Miner, someone can help me?

Create in SAS Enterprise Miner classifier MBR on Intrusion dataset Detection (a .csv file I downloaded from my university website), after:
1. Performed an exploratory analysis of the data which presented the main results.
2. Partitioned the dataset into training set, test and validation set (50% -30% -20%).
3. Eliminated the non-numerical features and have explained the reasons for such exclusion.
4. Chose a value of K (indicate why you chose it).
5. Calculate the total error of prediction on the test set.
6. Repeat steps 3 and 4 by changing the value of K chosen for a total of 3 iterations.
7. Viewing the curve of total error varying K. For which value of K you obtain a minor error?
8. For this value of k, show the confusion matrix on the validation set.

I have problems mainly with step 3, but also with steps 4 (how can I justify my choice of K?), 5, 7 (how can I see the curve of total error?) and 8 (How can I find the confusion matrix?).

I apologize for my poor English, and I hope for your help.

Teodoro

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
M_Maldonado
Barite | Level 11

Hi Teodoro,

To find a suitable number of nearest neighbors, I would run several MBR nodes with different number of neighbors, and then use a Model Comparison node to compare their fit statistics, and their score distribution. This is just my preference, not sure if there is a more theoretical way to do it.

Two options to see the classification matrix:

1. For any node in the Model tab, you can see the classification matrix in your results. Go ti View->Assessment->Classification Chart. If you want to see the numbers, click on the fourth icon (table button).