BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
🔒 This topic is solved and locked. Need further help from the community? Please sign in and ask a new question.
jwhite
Quartz | Level 8

Forgive me, as I'm new to SAS DI Studio, but I'm looking at a series of jobs that basically contain one 'node' (if that's the right term) which is 'Create Table and Metadata'. This goes out to a SAS DDL program and uses the format contained within to create a new table.

Well, instead of having one of these little 'one node' jobs for each table, I'd like to just have the table name be entered via a prompted parameter. I see that 'Create Table and Metadata' has a parameter tab, and when I create the parameter there, I'm unsure how to get the user to receive the prompt and for the user's input to be passed along as the table name. Do I need to modify the code in the Code tab? if my parameter name is '_parameter' would this be input in the line as follows:

'%let tableName = &_parameter'

Thanks!

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
jwhite
Quartz | Level 8

Sure.

I was able to use the parameters within the option tab by prefacing the parameter name with '&' and ending it with '.'.

For example: &parameter.

View solution in original post

5 REPLIES 5
LinusH
Tourmaline | Level 20

Hmm, I'm not sure what you are actually looking at.

If you open a job, and click the node, what does say in the "Node Type" field in the Basic Properties window (default placed at your bottom left)?

EN each of the SAS standard transformations ("Nodes") for table update  there are SAS DDL (or a data step with some attrib statements). Is this what you mean? Or do you have some custom made code?

From another angle, what is the requirement? Since most DI job are target table aware (they will be created if they doesn't exist during execution), this part is more or less for free.

But if you ave a DDL and no meta data registration...who made the DDL?

Data never sleeps
jwhite
Quartz | Level 8