BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
TeraGrapher
Fluorite | Level 6

I am trying to assist a customer to improve some very large extracts from Teradata to SAS (9.4) by using TPT/Export.

They need to use LDAP (and are successfully using AuthDomain) and SQL pass-through to use specific Teradata SQL (and currently using).

I believe that the syntax would be similar to the following (I am just learning SAS and pulled this out from the various manuals), but I am being told that this is not correct:

LIBNAME MyTd Teradata TDPID=QA1 AUTHDOMAIN=TeradataAuth FastExport=Yes DBSliceParm=(THREADED_APPS,2) Mode=Teradata Database=QA1_PL_SAS_VIEWS LogDb=SB_PRICING;
PROC SQL;
CONNECT USING MyTd as MyTd_1;
CREATE TABLE work.term AS
SELECT *
FROM CONNECTION TO MyTd_1
(
    SELECT  PolicyNo,
            QuoteNo,
            NumTerm,
            GwTermNo,
            ModelNo,
            curmodel,
            MIN(CAST(PeriodStartDate AS date)) AS date_inc,
            MAX(CAST(PeriodEndDate AS date)) AS date_exp
    FROM policy
    WHERE    numterm IS NOT NULL
    AND      ModelNo IS NOT NULL
    GROUP BY PolicyNo, QuoteNo, NumTerm, GWTermNo, ModelNo, curmodel
    ORDER BY PolicyNo, NumTerm, GwTermNo, ModelNo;
);
DISCONNECT FROM MyTd_1;
QUIT;

Any ideas as to if this is actually possible and how to get this to work?

12 REPLIES 12
RW9
Diamond | Level 26 RW9
Diamond | Level 26

Well, not used teradata, however the syntax shoud be similar to how we used to connect to Oracle, something along the lines of:

proc sql;
  connect to db (<connection details eg username/password);
  create table WORK.TERM as
  select * from connection to db (

<your database query here>

);
  disconnect from db;
quit;

So I don't see anything majorly out, other than the connect to db.  

TeraGrapher
Fluorite | Level 6

Unfortunately that's been tried and SAS just uses ODBC for accessing Teradata and TPT is not used. Extracting millions and in some cases billions of rows using ODBC is just too slow.

Thanks anyway.

RW9