BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
pparpati
Calcite | Level 5

Hi,

I am new to SAS. And we use SAS EG to connect to a SAS UNIX server.

There are so many processes that are manually run every day and results are exported to a windows shared drive manually.

The requirement is to automate and schedule the processes.

What are the options to do so? Please let me know if more details are needed.

Thanks,

Praveena

4 REPLIES 4
snoopy369
Barite | Level 11
The first thing I'd do is read Wendy's blog post here:

https://blogs.sas.com/content/sgf/2013/08/14/four-ways-to-schedule-sas-tasks/

That covers the four common ways you'd use to schedule processes. Using EG on a server, you're probably going to prefer the third method I would guess, unless you have SAS Grid or similar in which case you may prefer the fourth. But the second method is also possible using EG, if you don't have a metadata server running for some reason and/or prefer to use windows tools.
TomKari
Onyx | Level 15

Since your SAS jobs are running on a UNIX server, I recommend you use your Unix scheduling (cron, scripts) capabilities or one of the SAS server-side products to schedule production jobs.

Enterprise Guide is a great tool, but I don't feel it's the best for scheduling production jobs on a remote server, as there are too many moving pieces (your machine, the network, and finally your SAS server). If any of these is having issues, it can interfere with your job executing correctly.

Use EG to develop and test your code, and for exploratory data analysis. Once you have your SAS programs going the way they should be, put them on the server and schedule them there.

If you search this site, you'll find a lot of posts that recommend this, in response to people who are experiencing problems using the EG scheduling facilities.

Tom

pparpati
Calcite | Level 5

Thank you for both your inputs. Will try and see how it goes. Will post what I find later here. Thanks a bunch!

pparpati
Calcite | Level 5

Hi,