BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
☑ This topic is solved. Need further help from the community? Please sign in and ask a new question.
Zeus_Olympus
Fluorite | Level 6

Hello,

I am fairly new to SAS DI Studio. I would like to append many tables together into one without dragging each one of them onto APPEND transformation on the Job canvas.

I'd rather prefer a kind of "User written code" as a Job, the datasets concatenations being based on certain prefix of the datasets names.

Thanking you in advance for your support.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
ErikLund_Jensen
Rhodochrosite | Level 12

Hi @Zeus_Olympus 

I am sorry to hear that.

It all depends on one table coupled ti the transformation as input.

First: Check that you have selected "User written body". As &_OUTPUT is undefined one suspects that you have choosen All user written

zeus1.gif

After that you should see these macro variables in the code pane:

zeus2.gif

The last part is to modify the code to select more than one prefix. The simplest solution is to drop the dsnprefix macro variable and use constants in the select, something like this, where you can add as many as necessary, as long as they are 3 chars long to match the substring:

proc sql noprint;
	select catx('.',scan("&_INPUT",1,'.'),memname) into :memnamelist separated by ' '
	from sashelp.vmember
	where upcase(scan("&_INPUT",1,'.')) = libname and substr(memname,1,3) in ('CV_', 'SD_', 'MN_');
quit;

data &_OUTPUT;
	set &memnamelist;
run;

I hope this solves your problem.

View solution in original post

7 REPLIES 7
Patrick
Opal | Level 21

Also what you're asking for could be done via user written code the DI way of doing things is using table metadata objects. That's what gives you the lineage on SAS metadata level.