BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
aiaimanel
Obsidian | Level 7

Hello everyone,

I'm new to this forum and I'm new in SAS DIS.

We have a pretty complex Workflow and we would like to parallelize some jobs.

I'm using a old version of SAS DIS (Version 3.4 , yup, don't be scared.. its a pain to do jobs here when you're used to other ETL Tools) and I do not know anything about parellelizing jobs on SAS DIS.

I've done some read about the Enable Parallel option on the Loops object but I really don't know how can I do this or if this will work.

I'm adding an attachment which shows one of the jobs I would like to parallelize.

Can anyone help me?

SAS_DIS_Job.PNG
8 REPLIES 8
LinusH
Tourmaline | Level 20
You're right, it an ancient version and I can't really recall the parallelization capabilities.
It seems you are calling different jobs in each "leg", so I would simply suggest that you create permanent (non persistant) output from splitter. And then use your scheduler for the parallelization planning.
Unless you are in a grid...?
Data never sleeps
aiaimanel
Obsidian | Level 7

Hi LinusH,

Thank you for your answer.

I didn't understood your response, specially the part about the permanent (non persistant) output from splitter.

I can't place my jobs directly from the splitter without having the loop object.

And I don't have scheduler for the paralleliztion planning. 

Regarding the grid question:

1) If you're talking about the server, We have a dedicated server to run SAS jobs, which is a pretty good machine, with some processors (don't remember how many though)

2) If you're talking about Grid in SAS, I don't think we have that configured or even if we have the license for that. Ancient SAS and first time using SAS DIS.

LinusH
Tourmaline | Level 20

What I meant was to store the splitter result in a permanent library. Persistent means that you keep some kind of history.

Are you using the splitter outputs as parameter data for the loop?