BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
🔒 This topic is solved and locked. Need further help from the community? Please sign in and ask a new question.
TurnTheBacon
Fluorite | Level 6

Working in DI Studio, I've created a job that takes a snapshot from the end of a month using the INTNX function. The month is determined by a &monthback parameter set in the job properties. If the parameter is set to -1, the job creates a snapshot of the previous month (August); if set to -2 it creates a snapshot of July, etc.

The job is good for taking single snapshots, but I need to take snapshots of each month back to Feb 2009. The period variable (YYYYMM format) will be useful for this. However, as I've never worked with loops before, I don't know how to proceed.

How do I go about looping this job so that I end up with a data set that contains all the snapshots? I figure I need a "Control Table", but the SAS documentation hasn't helped me understand how it works yet.

Would it be correct to "count down" the &monthback parameter in the postcode of the Loop transformation, until the period variable equals Feb 2009 (200902)? Sounds right to me, but I think I  just need to understand how to handle the control table before I can try it... if I need one at all, that is. *goes back to studying & experimenting*

Thanks for your attention. Smiley Happy

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
shivas
Pyrite | Level 9

Hi,

Patrick had already given you the solution.But for example purpose you can try this

You job looks something similar to this..or you can change according to your requirement.

report.png

Loop jobs can be underwritten code or any job (in this example I have created user written code)

%let newdate=&date;

data test_&date;

set sashelp.buy;

chardate=put(&newdate,date9.);

sasdate=input(chardate,date9.);

if date=intnx('month',sasdate,-1) then output;

format sasdate date date9.;

run;

Buy table would be your parameter file with all the dates you want to pass.