BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
🔒 This topic is solved and locked. Need further help from the community? Please sign in and ask a new question.
Scoindy
Calcite | Level 5

Hi,

I'm new to SAS DI and I'm trying to build a simple ETL framework. I would like be able write audit information whenever a job is executed to an ODBC table. for example, the start and end times, the job name, and the status of the job on completion e.g. SUCCESS or FAILURE. I have done this in other ETL tools by creating a stored procedure at database level and calling them from the ETL tool.

With DI this works perfectly to create the job audit record, but the problem I have is that if a transformation fails, then the NOEXEC option is set which is preventing the proc sql command to update the audit record with end timestamp and job status from running. Hopefully the attached screenshot explains what I'm trying to do.

di 001.png

The logfile for the log job end transformation shows my ODBC stored procedure call not being executed because the error in the SCD 2 transformation has set the NOEXEC option

6125       proc sql;
NOTE: PROC SQL set option NOEXEC and will continue to check the syntax of statements.
6127          connect to odbc (datasrc='fluxliner_repo');
NOTE: Statement not executed due to NOEXEC option.
6131          execute(dbo.sp_package_end
6132                    @batch_id     = "&batch_id",
6133                    @package_name = "&etls_JobName",
6134                    @status       = "&JOB_RC") by odbc;
6136          disconnect from odbc;
6138       quit;
NOTE: The SAS System stopped processing this step because of errors.