BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
🔒 This topic is solved and locked. Need further help from the community? Please sign in and ask a new question.
jdadams
Fluorite | Level 6

Hi All:

I'm new at using SAS 9.4 for Windows 10 and I'm confused about how to set MEMSIZE during invocation.  I've read the documentation and I understand that you have to provide "<path> sas.exe -memsize 6G" to set memory at 6G.  But I've no idea how invocation is done or where it is done.  I know that you invoke before SAS launches, but that's about it.

Thanks for your help & forgive my ignorance (though a video example showing invocation would be nice.)

-J Adams 

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
SASKiwi
PROC Star

You can do it when starting SAS as in the command line have in your original post. You can do this from the Windows 10 Run window or the Command window.

View solution in original post

4 REPLIES 4
PeterClemmensen
Tourmaline | Level 20

Specify -MEMSIZE 6G in your configuration file. Probably located at

c:\Program Files\SASHome\SASFoundation\9.4\nls\en\

jdadams
Fluorite | Level 6

Thanks for your reply.

But what if I do not want to change the config file 'permanently' but instead want to reset MEMSIZE (and also SORTSIZE) for that one run?  I can do as you suggest, but changing the parameters after sas.exe is often suggested as an alternative.  But where?

Thank you again.

SASKiwi
PROC Star

You can do it when starting SAS as in the command line have in your original post. You can do this from the Windows 10 Run window or the Command window.

jdadams
Fluorite | Level 6

Brilliant, SASKiwi !!

When I enter:  C:\Program Files\SASHome\SASFoundation\9.4\sas.exe -memsize 20G -sortsize 18G

into the Windows Run Window box at lower left (AKA the "Type here to search" box for dummies) and hit enter, it does change the memsize and sortsize parameters.  I verify this by running in SAS, which is invoked upon issuing the above statement, by executing:

proc options;

run;