BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
sas_noob_1
Calcite | Level 5

Greetings everyone,

I would like to ask you something that might be simple to you.

I'm working on a Sentiment Analytics project that requires me to study 5,000 comments. I've never done Sentiment Analytics before in a program, I've only known it by concept hence I'm reaching out to the community for some advice.

One of the few things I'm trying to achieve but couldn't figure out how are...

1. Is there a way for me to separate sentences from feedbacks other than using a delimiter of a period (.).

For example:
This is my sentence. I like fruits (eg. Apple, Banana, Watermelon). This is my third sentence.

If I use the inbuilt split function and use the period (.) as a delimiter, 2 times it will look like this: 

1st split -

This is my sentence.

I like fruits (eg. Apple, Banana, Watermelon). This is my third sentence.

2nd split -

This is my sentence.

I like fruits (eg.

Apple, Banana, Watermelon). This is my third sentence.

What method do you suggest? Should I just edit the comment and remove the period in front of the eg.? 

I don't think doing it in excel would be very practical as there are 5000 records.

2. Is there a way for me to remove smileys using the Data Preparation of SAS Viya? 

eg. :), :D, 😞

3. How can I present a word cloud of the comments without showing them as sentences but rather by the words?

Thanks and regards,

Andric

3 REPLIES 3
RonAgresta
SAS Employee

Hi Andric,

For your first question, assuming you are using SAS Data Preparation in SAS Viya (based on a comment later in the post), have you tried using the "Other" delimiter option? From the documentation: