BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
Naomi
Calcite | Level 5

Hi everyone,

I am new with SAS DI. I want to extract the data from excel to sas dataset. I am using user written code to extract data from excel to sas dataset.

I create the table and set format DATETIME16. for column date. However, I face a problem for date column form excel null and it become error and fail to load the data.

Anyone can help me on this problem?..

Regards,

Noomie

4 REPLIES 4
NaveenSrinivasan
Calcite | Level 5

Can you please send a sample of a couple of obs and the code you have written for people to understand and give you a precise solution.

Thanks,

Naveen

Patrick
Opal | Level 21

You don't give us enough information so below is based on some assumptions. If I understand your problem then you're using Proc Import and in cases where all rows for the datetime column in your Excel source are missing you end up with a character variable. As to my knowledge there is no way to tell Proc Import to apply a specific variable type for a source column. It's based on scanning the source data - and if it's all missing then Proc Import defaults to a character variable.

Excel is just a bad source for data integration and should be avoided. But I know that it's sometimes not possible.

If the Excel source is rectangular then you could try and register it as metadata table object. I've done this in the past with mixed results. SAS(R) Data Integration Studio 4.4: User's Guide

Another way which I've already used is to first read the Excel source using Proc Import, then write the resulting table as text delimited file to disk and then define a External File metadata object for this csv. After that it's "out-of-the-box" ETL.

Such an approach adds some I/0 but it let's you much better control how you read the data for further processing.