BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
🔒 This topic is solved and locked. Need further help from the community? Please sign in and ask a new question.
YuWeiLee
Calcite | Level 5

Hi everyone,

I am new to SAS, so there is a fundamental question that I want to ask for help.
I have the list of all company of SEC 10K Filing date as follows:

Filing Date 

04/29/1993

11/12/1993

11/29/1993

My condition:

if the date is before 5/30 and it should be the fiscal year 1992, otherwise it is 1993

So the output will be

Filing Date        Fiscal Year

04/29/1993            1992

11/12/1993            1993

11/29/1993            1993

Is there any way to get the right fiscal year?

Thanks

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
PeterClemmensen
Tourmaline | Level 20

Welcome to the SAS Communities 🙂

you can do like this

data have;
input FilingDate :mmddyy10.;
format FilingDate mmddyy10.;
datalines;
04/29/1993
11/12/1993
11/29/1993
;

data want;
    set have;
    if FilingDate ge mdy(5,30,year(FilingDate)) then FiscalYear=year(FilingDate);
    else FiscalYear=year(FilingDate)-1;
run;

View solution in original post

7 REPLIES 7
PeterClemmensen
Tourmaline | Level 20

Welcome to the SAS Communities 🙂

you can do like this

data have;
input FilingDate :mmddyy10.;
format FilingDate mmddyy10.;
datalines;
04/29/1993
11/12/1993
11/29/1993
;

data want;
    set have;
    if FilingDate ge mdy(5,30,year(FilingDate)) then FiscalYear=year(FilingDate);
    else FiscalYear=year(FilingDate)-1;
run;
YuWeiLee
Calcite | Level 5
It's always May 30.
Kurt_Bremser
Super User

Then you should take @PeterClemmensen 's solution.

A slight modification uses the ifn() function:

fiscalyear = ifn(filingdate ge mdy(5,30,year(filingdate)),year(filingdate),year(filingdate)-1));
FloydNevseta
Pyrite | Level 9