BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
🔒 This topic is solved and locked. Need further help from the community? Please sign in and ask a new question.
shivxy
Calcite | Level 5

Forgive me if this isn't the correct forum to post this question.. i'm VERY new to SAS and still learning new things everyday.  My question is: I need to do column level decryption with SaS. 

Here is the setup.

SQL Server 2016:

-- SYMMETRIC KEY has been created with AES_256 bit for the database.

-- This table has been created.  The FooPassB will hold the encrypted data.

CREATE TABLE Foo
(
FooId INT IDENTITY(1,1) PRIMARY KEY,
FooPassN NVARCHAR(25),
FooPassB VARBINARY(MAX) NULL,
LoadDate DATETIME DEFAULT(GETDATE())
);

--In SQL I would add data to this table like this:

OPEN SYMMETRIC KEY CERT_KEY
DECRYPTION BY CERTIFICATE Cert;
GO

INSERT INTO Foo (FooPassN, FooPassB)
 VALUES
 ('1234', ENCRYPTBYKEY(KEY_GUID('CERT_KEY'), N'1234')),
 ('5678', ENCRYPTBYKEY(KEY_GUID('CERT_KEY'), N'5678'))

CLOSE SYMMETRIC KEY CERT_KEY;

Now here is my issue... how do I decrypt that data in sas? 

In SQL I would:

OPEN SYMMETRIC KEY CERT_KEY
DECRYPTION BY CERTIFICATE Cert;
GO

SELECT FooPassN, FooPassB, CONVERT(NVARCHAR(25), DECRYPTBYKEY(FooPassB)) AS 'Decrypted Foo'
FROM DBO.Foo

CLOSE SYMMETRIC KEY CERT_KEY;

But I don't think I can wrap that SQL statement in a SaS statement.  Does SaS have a way to send that whole command? or do I have to create a API or a Sproc that SaS can connect to and pull data from that instead?

Cheers and thanks for any insight on this!

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
SASKiwi
PROC Star

I would check out if you have the latest SQL Server ODBC driver which you can do on the Microsoft website - if not download the latest one. It is probably also worth opening a track with SAS Tech Support.

View solution in original post

15 REPLIES 15
SASKiwi
PROC Star

Yes you can by wrapping the SQL Server-specific SQL in a pass-thru query:

proc sql;