BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
🔒 This topic is solved and locked. Need further help from the community? Please sign in and ask a new question.
YoLohse
Fluorite | Level 6

Hi

I'm new to sas but quite experienced in Excel, this dataset however is too big for Excel and i need to use SAS.

I have 4 variables from a series of 5k runs. RunnerID (each runner has a unique ID), RunDate (date of the run), Placement (in what place the runner finished) and Gender (0=woman 1=man).

I want to create a new variable that is =1 if a man finished directly behind a woman ie. RunDates for the two individuals are equal and the man's placement is = woman's placement+1. the variable should be 0 otherwise and should be empty for women.

I want SAS to look at the first man in the dataset and compare him with all the women that ran the same day to see if he finished behind a woman. After this, SAS should go do the same for the next man and so on and so on.

In excel i would do this with a loop, but i don't know how it is done in SAS

Below is a code snip of how I think it should look, and I have written in words what I think the If-statement should contain.

I need help to:

- Only loop through men and preferably only compare men to women who ran the same date for quicker processing

- How to refer to different observations in SAS when doing the If-statement

data AllData;
set AllData;
After_Woman = 1 if *man's RunDate = woman's RunDate and man's placement = woman's placement+1 else After_Woman = 0*

Hope you guys can help! 

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
PGStats
Opal | Level 21

Try this:

proc sort data=allData; by rundate placement; run;

data want;
set allData; by rundate;
retain prevGender;
if gender=1 then after_woman = prevGender = 0 and not first.rundate;
prevGender = gender;
drop prevGender;
run;

(untested)

PG

View solution in original post

3 REPLIES 3
ballardw
Super User

First comment. As newish user do not use the code construct like:

Data alldata;
    set alldata;