BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
sabid
Calcite | Level 5

I want to create a list of all datasets (data inventory) that exist in our SAS server. I am in the SAS Admin role, and have access to management console, DIS and sas eg. Can I write a program to create this list?

24 REPLIES 24
Reeza
Super User
SASHELP.VTABLE
+
SASHELP.VCOLUMN

or dictionary.table, dictionary.column

Those tables have all the information you'll need.
sabid
Calcite | Level 5

Ok.. so i dont think I follow.. what am I supposed to do with this? Can you send more explicit directions? I am new in this role! 

Reeza
Super User
Those are table names. Look them up in your system.
sabid
Calcite | Level 5

And by system, do you mean the server environment? or a specific application?

Reeza
Super User
You should go ask whoever asked you to do this. As an admin your really should be familiar with the systems.
sabid
Calcite | Level 5

yeah.. I'm one of those folks who are filling in, so learning the ropes. But thanks for your help.

sabid
Calcite | Level 5

Hmmm I'll search this. will it allow me to export as well?

Reeza
Super User
Sure, right click the data set and export. This functionality is common across most RDBMS, not just SAS. Each will create it's own metadata tables about the table stored.
ErikLund_Jensen
Rhodochrosite | Level 12

Hi @sabid 

SAS is not a database. A SAS data set is just a disk file with the extension sas7bdat, that exists in a given directory, but it is invisible to SAS until the directory is assigned as a SAS Library to the current SAS session with a libname statement.

Then SAS can see the given dictionary as a SAS Library and the files in the directory as SAS tables and supply dictionary information in the SASHELP library. But this works only if the given directory is assigned as a Libname in the current session.