BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
🔒 This topic is solved and locked. Need further help from the community? Please sign in and ask a new question.
sam2
Calcite | Level 5

good morning, I am trying to create a cross tab table using proc tabulate, but am having a difficult time because one of my variables is a character. I am relatively new to using SAS and am unsure if there is a way to format the variable or transform the variable so it will fit in the body of my table. The data I am using looks somewhat like this:

data try;

input Market $ Number Type $;

datalines;

Eastern 17 Low

South 25 Mid

Midwest 92 High

West 33 Mid

;

run;

Market would be my class variable in proc tabulate and then I would like two columns, one with the number and one with the type. My tabulate statement looks like this:

proc tabulate data=try;

class Market;

var Number;

var Type;

table Market, Number='Count' Type;

run;

but when I run it, I get the inevitable error:

106 proc tabulate data=try;

107 class Market;

108 var Number;

109 var Type;

ERROR: Variable Type in list does not match type prescribed for this list.

110 table Market, Number='Count' Type;

111 run;

NOTE: The SAS System stopped processing this step because of errors.

NOTE: PROCEDURE TABULATE used (Total process time):

real time 0.00 seconds

cpu time 0.00 seconds

is there a way to get around this problem?

thank you for any assistance you can give.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
ballardw
Super User

Please post code using the ^^ Run icon above.

You had several Issues: First in your TRY2 dataset you did not create a numeric value. You generated warnings because you attempted to use numeric format and informat with a variable Try that was character. Here is how to create a numeric variable from

your existing type.