BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
☑ This topic is solved. Need further help from the community? Please sign in and ask a new question.
PaigeMiller
Diamond | Level 26

I am a beginner at PROC TEMPLATE. I follow the PROC TEMPLATE example here: https://documentation.sas.com/doc/en/pgmsascdc/9.4_3.4/odsproc/n1sbdyv873pfcmn1e3a8p2z4k055.htm and now my PROC FREQ shows the frequency counts in format comma12. Works as expected. But then, I want to do another PROC FREQ later in the same program with the default format for frequency counts, how do I return to the default format? Is it simply running PROC TEMPLATE again with the BEST7. format for frequency counts?

Is the some way to save the template with comma12. format and call it as needed?

--
Paige Miller
1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
ChrisHemedinger
Community Manager

If you followed the example then you probably used ODS PATH to add a "search" path for your custom templates. You can use ODS PATH with a REMOVE option to stop SAS from looking there, and bypass your custom template.

Best practice is to keep your custom templates in a location you control, and don't override the ones that ship with SAS (in the SASHELP location). 

SAS Hackathon registration is open! Build your skills. Make connections. Enjoy creative freedom. Maybe change the world.

View solution in original post

2 REPLIES 2
Cynthia_sas
SAS Super FREQ
Hi:
Basically, you need to create your changed template for PROC FREQ in a separate template store location. And then when you want to use the default template for PROC FREQ, you'll control the search path for the template stores by using an ODS PATH statement.