BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
blackgenie13
Calcite | Level 5

I am a student just started to learn SAS, and I encountered a strange problem that I can't figured out.  When I run the example given from the lecture note using PROC FREQUENCY, I got the correct result in the output window with the exception that the style line in my table was displayed in bunch of question marks.  Please see attached for what I mean, and what should be correct result be (I scanned in the correct result from my note).  I checked my log files and there was no error, warning, or note displayed.  It was a rather straight forward and simple PROC FREQUENCY Code too.

Has anyone encountered this before and/or know how to resolve the issue?

My Own Result (with bunch of question marks):

Example9-8.JPG

The "Correct" Result I Scanned from my lecture notes (just a simple line):

Correct.JPG

Thanks so much!

Michael

12 REPLIES 12
blackgenie13
Calcite | Level 5

In fact, it would seem that all my "lines" have been converted to "???".  See one more example below.  Any help would be much appreciated!

My result from a simple PROC FORMAT FMTLIB:

question marks.JPG

The "Correct" Result from Lecture Note:

Correct 2.JPG

Thanks,

Michael

Ksharp
Super User

Check options formchar=   at support.sas.com

blackgenie13
Calcite | Level 5

Hi Keshan -

Thanks!  I added OPTIONS FORMCHAR="|----|+|---+=|-/\<>*"; and now at least the result is readable and somewhat acceptable (see screenshots)!  However, it is still not quite the same (or as pretty) as the results from my lecture notes.  Do you or anyone know why that is and what I need to do to print "smooth, straight lines"?

P.S. The class only uses Listing Output, we do not use HTML.

New Result 01.JPG

New Result 02.JPG

Thanks,

Michael

Ksharp
Super User

That maybe different SAS Version between yours and lecture .

RW9
Diamond | Level 26 RW9
Diamond | Level 26