BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
deleted_user
Not applicable
I have a field in my dataset that is 8 characters long. Sometimes, all of the characters are numeric and in fact, the first observation in the dataset is 00000001. I use style={tagattr='type:String'} to force the field to be text in Excel, but it still seems to be getting picked up as numeric.

The worst part is that I try a small test program and it works ok. I do a proc contents on the dataset that doesn't work and on the one that works in my test program and both are type char and len 8. So I don't think there's a difference there.

Does anyone have any thoughts on a workaround or a way for me to diagnose or do it differently? I am an XML novice, no doubt.

Thanks,
--Charlie
12 REPLIES 12
Eric_SAS
SAS Employee
Try

style={tagattr='format:text'}

That should do what you want.
deleted_user
Not applicable
I was thinking I had tried that, but gave it another shot. It unfortunately does not do the trick. Any other ideas?
Cynthia_sas
SAS Super FREQ
Hi:
When I try this code:
[pre]
data charstr;
infile datalines;
input name $ charstr $ state $;
format name charstr $8. state $2.;
return;
datalines;
Alan 0000001 OH
Bob 0000002 AL
Carl 0000003 NC
;
run;

proc contents data=charstr;
run;

ods tagsets.excelxp file='c:\temp\charstr.xls'
style=sasweb;
proc print data=charstr;
var name;
var charstr /
style(data)={tagattr="Format:text"};
var state;
run;
ods _all_ close;

[/pre]

and open the resulting Spreadsheet Markup Language file with Excel, my number is stored as text. Excel (in Office 2007) shows me that the number is stored as text with a little green triangle in the upper left hand corner of the cell. Excel is not happy about storing a number as text.

If I change the DATALINES to this:
[pre]
datalines;
Alan 0000001 OH
Bob 0000002 AL
Carl 0000003 NC
Dave Nothing GA
;
[/pre]