BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
Doug
Calcite | Level 5

I have some experience in creating define pdf, but none in creating a define xml document. Can anyone provide some assistance to get me started?

12 REPLIES 12
AncaTilea
Pyrite | Level 9

Hi.

If you run the code below, you will get an EXCEL file, however, when you right-click and select to open it with Notepad (or any other convenient text editor) the XML "schema" (?) opens up for editing.

Not sure if this is what you want, but this should give you a starting point on how to get started.

Please note that the extension of the file created is xlsx.

Furthermore, the ODS TAGSETS has several options in place that you can use that will create a more tailored XML.

%let path = your_path;
ods tagsets.excelxp path = "&path." file="filename.xlsx";
   proc print data = sashelp.class;run;

ods tagsets.excelxp close;

I hope this helps.

Good luck,

Anca.

ballardw
Super User

Tagsets.Excelxp creates xml not Excel forrmat files. By naming the output file with an xls or xlsx extension you are telling Excel to try to open it and since it knows how to open XML files it works generally.

AncaTilea
Pyrite | Level 9

I know that.

Hence the tagsets (< >) name.

This was just my idea on how to get started on creating defined XML.

Maybe my explanation is not as clear as it could be Smiley Sad

Doug
Calcite | Level 5

To provide additional information, the final file contains relevant metadata information on a group of sas datasets with active hyperlinks to those datasets and any relevant documents.

Cynthia_sas
SAS Super FREQ

Hi:

Specifically, DEFINE.XML is the CDISC equivalent of the DEFINE.PDF that folks used to submit to the FDA. CDISC XML is not the same as the XML created by TAGSETS.EXCELXP. I am not currently on a computer where I can do a search for you, but if you go out to support.sas.com and search for the Clinical Standards Toolkit, there are ways to create DEFINE.XML using the SAS toolkit.