BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
🔒 This topic is solved and locked. Need further help from the community? Please sign in and ask a new question.
dreanne
Calcite | Level 5

Hello,

I'm relatively new to ODS, so I'm a bit lost here.

I use ODS and Proc Template to create a table that is "publication-ready". Now, I don't know how to export it to Excel so that I don't lose the data format. I could always copy-special paste column by column, but there must be a better way, right?

I attach a simpler version of the code I run and output it produces. (The full version has about 25 columns) Specifically, I would like to be able to export both columns simultaneously in Excel without them collapsing one on top of the other (which a copy-special paste does); and I would like to conserve the format, namely, every other observation in the second column needs to be in parentheses.

Thank you for your help!

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Cynthia_sas
SAS Super FREQ

Hi:

Sadly, you are experiencing the world of Microsoft defaults. When Excel opens your output file (whether you use HTML or TAGSETS.EXCELXP), you are creating an ASCII text file that Microsoft opens using ALL the defaults that it wants to use. And, generally, (as you have discovered), ignoring most of the formatting for numbers (such as leading zeros, percents, decimal places and parens and column widths) that you work hard to get in SAS.

When you use ODS methods to get output into Excel, you have the choice to allow Excel to use its defaults or you can send a Microsoft format (not a SAS format) to Excel. The style attribute that you use will depend on your ODS method:

1) HTML based methods: use HTMLSTYLE= attribute with MSO-NUMBER-FORMAT (Microsoft format) value specified

2) XML based methods: useTAGATTR= attribute with a Microsoft format value specified

Look in this user group paper for some concrete examples: Also, you can search other forum postings for these techniques.