Percentage

Full Time

Part Time

Unemployed

Male

Full Time

Part Time

Unemployed

within each sex category, there's percentage makeup of all employment status. 

Also, i want to create another table that only report on drug use = 1 that looks like following (I don't want to include drug = 0)

Drug use

Percentage

M

F

Analgesic

M

F

Thanks! 

9 REPLIES 9
Cynthia_sas
SAS Super FREQ

Hi:
Your first report seems like PROC TABULATE might do the trick for you. What code have you tried?
cynthia

panpan1215
Fluorite | Level 6

I'm sorry I don't know anything about proc tabuleau. i'm very new to SAS. Can you please demonstrate for me? Thanks

Cynthia_sas
SAS Super FREQ

Hi:

PROC TABULATE is a SAS procedure that can create summary tables based on your data. You can request many statistics other than the N (count) and the SUM. But those are the default statistics that TABULATE generates for you based on whether your variables are character or numeric.

TABULATE expects all your variables for the TABLE to be declared as either CLASS for making groups or VAR for performing analysis. You can then use a TABLE statement to instruct PROC TABULATE what kind of table structure you want and what statistics and crossings you want. Your summary table can be a one dimension table of only columns or it can be a two dimension table of columns and rows or it can be a three dimension table of columns, rows and pages.

TABULATE uses table operators to arrange the structure of the table. The TABLE operators are comma (new dimension), space (stack or concatenate tables) and < or > symbols (specify a denominator for a custom percent). In addition, there is a special CLASS variable called ALL that allows you to generate subtotals and grand totals in any dimension.

The statistics that you generate can be as simple as N or SUM, but there are many other statistics like MIN, MEAN, MAX, CSS, STD, MEDIAN, etc. Look in the TABULATE documentation for the full list.