BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
🔒 This topic is solved and locked. Need further help from the community? Please sign in and ask a new question.
guanlinchang
Calcite | Level 5

I am not a professional SAS programmer, but I am working as a statistics intern now to help producing some report.

I have data like this:

data test;
  input ID $  type1 $ type2 $;
  datalines;
  1 A1 B1
  2 A1 B2
  3 A2 B2
  4 A1 B2
  5 A2 B1
  6 A2 B1
  ;
run;

So we have: A1 and B1: 1 subject; A1 and B2: 2 subjects; A2 and B1: 2 subjects; A2 and B2: 1 subject

My goal:

To generate a frequency table using proc report and achieve the following lay out:

mocking_1.png

I am very new to proc report. I have been getting basic understanding of this procedure from http://support.sas.com and I understand those examples, however none of the examples help me to get idea how to generate this exactly.

Any advice or help would be appreciated.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Cynthia_sas
SAS Super FREQ

Hi:

It is useful to understand what PROC REPORT will give you by default and make sure you get the right numbers and then work toward cosmetically improving the report to look like what you want.

Here are some points to remember:

1) Almost all SAS procedures will only give you 1 value for cell/column. So, for example, on a report, by default, SAS will usually be able to give you a column for the N or the count and give you another column for the percent of count. But unless you create a character value that is the combination of (N/%), SAS won't put 2 values in one cell.

2) If you want the count in the Header for a variable value, as you show with your N=6 or N=3, then you need to pre-calculate these values and make helper macro variables to hold the counts you need. There are several different ways to do this. I show just one way in the modified data creation program below.

Here's the modified DATA step to read the data, accumulate the totals and make helper macro variables using CALL SYMPUTX: