BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
🔒 This topic is solved and locked. Need further help from the community? Please sign in and ask a new question.
AndrewBrown
Calcite | Level 5

I'm generating some plots from PROC UNIVARIATE, and I'm finding that I'm unable to contol the colors used, even though there are options to do so.

I'm trying code adapted from a short sample in the product documentation:

proc univariate;

histogram / normal(color=(orange black) mu=10 est sigma=0.5 est);

run;

...but I find the colors are not used as specified.  I've checked both listing and HTML results.  I'm using SAS 9.3 TS Level 1M1.  I'm pretty new to SAS; is there something obvious that I'm missing.

Thanks, Andrew

PS: I find that I can control colors in other procedures such as PROC SGPLOT

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Cynthia_sas
SAS Super FREQ

Hi:

If you have ODS GRAPHICS turned OFF, then your COLOR choices will override what is specified in the STYLE template (as seen in #1 output below). However, if you have ODS GRAPHICS turned ON (as it is by default in SAS 9.3), then your COLOR choices in the syntax are ignored and ONLY the style template will impact your output (as shown in #2). I changed the colors to CYAN and RED, 2 colors which are not in the style template -- so their appearance would be immediately evident.

I prefer to explicitly take control of the ODS GRAPHICS statement so that I know exactly whether my syntax options are in control or whether the style template is in control. An additional option that can impact your output is whether you have the GSTYLE option turned on or off (OPTIONS NOGSTYLE). Consider the difference between #1a and #1b output...when you use the NOGSTYLE option, you are turning off the use of the ODS style template completely. By default, the state of this option is for GSTYLE to be turned ON.