BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
🔒 This topic is solved and locked. Need further help from the community? Please sign in and ask a new question.
bananah13
Fluorite | Level 6

Hello,

I am trying to calculate positivity yield (column pct) using two columns calculated for my proc report (total and test). The calculate function is not working as desired and returns a column positivity yield column (pct) showing missing values  (both total and test columns are populated with values that do show up in generated report). I am new to proc report, but found this almost exact syntax in SAS documentation, however it is not returning the desired results. Any help is appreciated.

ODS tagsets.excelxp file="C:\Saved\CountyFile.xlm"
style=PEARLJ

options (sheet_name='#BYVAL(county)');

proc report data=ROOT ;

title "Missing Data ";
  by county;
  col LocationId Total Test (pct);
  define total/ analysis "Total Records";
  define Test/ analysis "Tests";
  define pct / "Positivity Yield" format=percent8.6;
  define LocationId/ group format=LOCATIONF. "Test Location";
compute pct;
  pct = Test/total;
  endcomp;
run;
ods Tagsets.ExcelXP close;

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
ballardw
Super User

@bananah13 wrote:

Apologies! The desired result is a percentage calculated from dividing columns (test / total) *100. Here is what is being returned. 

I am getting a note in the bug log saying variables are uninitialized

NOTE: Variable total is uninitialized.
NOTE: Variable Test is uninitialized.

Not a bug but standard behavior for Proc Report. Consider this code, which uses a data set you can test:

proc report data=sashelp.class;
  column name height weight (ratio);
  define name /group;
  define height/analysis;
  define weight/analysis;
  define ratio/format=percent8.3;
  compute ratio;
  /* this "computation" creates Variable uninitialized notes*/
/*     ratio=height/weight;  */
     ratio= _c2_/_c3_;
  endcomp;
run;